Planning a Garden

This may just be harder than I thought.

There is so much to consider when planning a garden.  It’s not just a matter of picking out what I want and then doing it.  First, I have to prepare the ground.  How much fertilizer and compost do I need for my plot?  Then I must consider the climate.  Here in Colorado, I can’t plant what I would in Florida.  I have to figure out what plants work best, and which I will receive the most “fruit” for my labor. The next consideration is what will I eat.  Of the things that grow well in this planting zone, what will I want to eat on a regular basis.  I may be able to grow eggplant, but will I really want to eat it all the time during the growing season–maybe, maybe not.  And finally, I need to consider what plants grow well next to each other and what will work in this climate.  I know I want to have herbs and some vegetables, so getting all this organized will take a little research.

Luckily, I have a few books to help me along the way.  The first is The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Vegetable Gardening.  I HATE the title, but it is full of all the info I need to know as far as preparing the ground and getting basic concepts of different types of gardens.  The next book is Carrots Love Tomatoes.  The concept of the book is to shed light on the plants that grow well next to each other for the maximum growth and flavor of each plant you put in your garden.  It is not technically a book, as much it is an encyclopedia of plants, herbs, vegetables, trees, etc. organized into individual chapters for easy reference.

I know it is going to be a challenge, but I’m actually looking forward to getting my hands dirty. Happy gardening, everyone!

Leave a Reply

