Don’t Rush the Milestones

As a first time mom, I was so concerned about Isaac doing things the same time as all the other children.  Isaac did some things early and some things way later than others his age.  He rolled over at 3 months, but didn’t start crawling until he was 8 and half months.  He didn’t walk on his own till he was 15 months old, and he really didn’t start talking a lot until he was almost 2.

I have to confess, I would have fleeting thoughts that there might be something wrong with him which I quickly dismissed.  He was happy and healthy; he just wasn’t doing things at the same time as my friends’ children.  Kids are supposed to get their teeth starting at 6 months, are they not?  And start creeping at 4 months, crawling at 6 months, and start walking at 12 months, right?  WRONG.  I got trapped in the misconception that I think society puts on us parents–that our babies need to fit perfectly into some kind of timetable.

Every baby is different and every baby develops at a different pace.  Even children in the same family develop at different rates of growth varying in weight and height as well as milestone achievements.  Naomi is much taller and heavier than Isaac ever was at 8 months, but Naomi rolled over later than Isaac and creeped later than he did, and she still is not crawling at almost nine months.

Whatever stage they are in, they are in for a reason.  It doesn’t necessarily mean that they aren’t smart enough to do something, but rather that they aren’t ready to–either physically (muscle strength) or motivationally (some babies are just content as they are).  So the next time you hear a mom talk about how her son or daughter is doing this or that, don’t be discouraged if your child of the same age is not doing exactly the same thing.  Enjoy your child for who they are and what they’ve accomplished thus far.

There will come a day when your child will walk and talk and become more independent. For now, they are little and dependent on you to fill their hearts with joy, and that in my eyes is one of the most precious things about being a mother.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Rush the Milestones

  1. I totally agree! I was the same way with Lauren (maybe it’s being a first time mom!) But if we have more kids, I am promising myself that I will just enjoy them at the stage they are in, instead of wanting them to “hurry up” and do whatever it is that they are “supposed” to be doing at that age.

    I would love to go back and tell myself that when Lauren was a baby! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, Sarah.

    1. Yep, I think it is a first time mom thing. I am not anxious at all over Naomi’s lack of interest in crawling or walking. She’ll do it when she’s ready. 🙂

Leave a Reply

