Exile

I am naked, and ashamed
Cast out of your presence once again
When will I learn and finally change?
How many times must I endure this pain?
The ground once mine, now ground ungained
I’m lost, without a name.

I am no one, I’m all alone
I walk in space that is not my own
I feel nothing and nothing is known,
In this place that is not my home.

The separation so great,
My soul waits
For deliverance from my current state
That I have now grown to hate.

I repent; I relent;
I fall on my face; my heart is bent.
Against you and you alone have I sinned;
Take me back from where I was sent.
Let this deafening silence end.

© 2014, Sarah S. Walters

Leave a Reply

