Song of an Exile

So I am finding that Abba can use anything to speak to our hearts. When we come to the knowledge of His Torah and start looking at everything with a critical eye, we can sometimes focus on what we see as pagan and “evil”. I have been there. I looked at the so-called “dark side” of each thing. But ultimately, I have come to believe that everything has been made good, and even “evil” is allowed by Hashem in order to produce good things. Hashem uses everything for His purposes. He even inspires worldly men to sing songs that have truth. Such is the case in the song below. My sister shared it with me this morning. Just listen to the words, and get the heart of what is being said.

To those who have been looking to much into the “dark side”, I would encourage you to change course and look into the “bright side”. As Rav Shaul exhorts to Titus, “Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled.” (Titus 1:15)

The goal of Torah is to purify. When we wash ourselves in the Word, He begins to change our mind and we see Him everywhere and in every thing. His fingerprints are all over the place.

I dubbed this song as “the Song of an Exile”. We who are still in the galut longingly pray for the “Light of the World” to shine on us again, making us all one, ultimately bringing us back to paradise. And yes, LOVE IS THE ANSWER to all the world’s problems.


Lyrics:

Name your price
A ticket to paradise
I can’t stay here any more
And I’ve looked high and low
I’ve been from shore, to shore, to shore
If there’s a short cut I’d have found it
But there is no easy way around it

Light of the world, shine on me
Love is the answer
Shine on us all
Set us free
Love is the answer

Who knows why
Someday we all must die
We’re all homeless boys and girls
And we are never heard
It’s such a lonely, lonely, lonely world
People turn their heads
And walk on by
Tell me is it worth just another try

Light of the world, shine on me
Love is the answer
Shine on us all
Set us free
Love is the answer

Tell me, are we alive
Or just a dying planet
(What are the chances)

Ask the man in your heart
For the answer

And when you feel afraid
(Love one another)
When you’ve lost your way
(Love one another)
And when you’re all alone
(Love one another)
And when you’re far from home
(Love one another)
And when you’re down and out
(Love one another)
And when your hopes run out
(Love one another)
And when you need a friend
(Love one another)
And when you’re near the end
(Love)
(We’ve got to love)
(We’ve got to love one another)

Light of the world, shine on me
Love is the answer
Shine on us all
Set us free
Love is the answer

Light of the world, shine on me
Love is the answer

Leave a Reply

