“Hot” Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Okay, so the original recipe in the book Trim Healthy Mama is really good, and I like it just fine, but when you’re me, you tend to modify recipes by finding ways to “improve” them. So here is my variation on the recipe for the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies found in the book (pg. 387)

In all honesty, I didn’t know if I’d like them or throw them out, because these cookies have cayenne pepper in them! Yes, I am borderline crazy. I just remember watching the movie Chocolat and seeing the chocolatier add red pepper to her hot chocolate, and thought, I’ll give a try. The result? a more intense, but amazing flavor. The pepper obviously adds a hint of heat, which I happen to love, but it also makes the chocolate taste more chocolatey. Not only did I like them, but my kids, who usually don’t finish the cookies (original recipe), gobbled these up!

[S] Trim Healthy Mama "Hot" Chocolate PB Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1-16 oz. all natural chunky peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • scant 1/2 cup erythritol
  • 1/2 tsp. pure stevia powder

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, and then roll out into 1-1 1/2 inch balls. (I usually get about 20 balls.) Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes and then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

