Making Challah: A Prayer on the Eve Rosh Hashanah

round challah
Do you ever pray when you’re making challah (bread)? Four words: fifteen minutes of kneading. It is a great time to think about and pray for others, a time to pray blessings over your friends and family, putting all those blessings and all that love into your bread.

This is my prayer that I pray over my challah today on this, the eve of Rosh Hashanah.

Avinu Malcheinu, Our Father, Our King,
Thank You for being my God.
Thank You for being the source of all life.
Thank You for blessing this last year,
for giving my family grace, love, and shalom.
For filling our home and our hearts with Your Light.
Thank You for my family, for my husband,
He is truly my soul mate, my other whole;
Thank you for my three children,
who bring such beauty and joy into our lives.
Thank you for my parents who taught me to love You
and to trust in You and walk in Your ways.
Thank You for my sisters and brother
who I can always depend on to tell me truth,
and who strive for holiness daily.
Thank You for my friends,
who serve You with all their hearts
and encourage me in my walk with You.
Hashem, bless us all with the light of Your countenance
and help us to continue to grow closer to You in the coming year.

!שנה טובה ומתוקה
Good and Sweet New Year!

Shalom and blessings,
Sarah

2 thoughts on “Making Challah: A Prayer on the Eve Rosh Hashanah

Leave a Reply

