Be Careful With Me

Be careful with me…
Don’t tell me that you don’t do this or that,
Tell me why you do the things you do.
Don’t condemn me in the spaces between your words;
Tell me what motivates you–your words and deeds–
With all the beauty and the meaning attached.
Don’t tell me that I am wrong;
Tell me that you love me,
Regardless of whether we agree.
Embrace me with complete abandon,
For I am poor, blind, deaf, dumb and lame,
But I am a child of G-d just like you.
Don’t tell me that I’m a lost cause,
Take me by the hand and lead me
To the One who can heal me,
And give me life abundantly.
His yoke is easy, and His burden light.
And He longs for His children to come home.
So be careful with me…

© 2014, Sarah S. Walters

3 thoughts on “Be Careful With Me

  1. I have really enjoyed your posts this month. This one especially. Thank you for sharing this with us. It’s been a grounding, open, and relatable blog to chill and read for me.

    1. Aww, thanks Cynthia. You are so sweet. 🙂 I am glad that you have been enjoying the posts. You know, I got an offhand comment from someone recently in a group, and I all of the sudden understood what it felt to be the object of someone’s judgment when they really don’t know me–and know that I have done this to others in the past. Anyway, this poem is the result. 🙂 It was in that moment that I realized just how much compassion and love are needed in this present age. Everyone thinks they have it figured out. But really there is only One who knows all. We must all go to Him to find healing and life. The rest of us are called to serve Him by loving others wherever they are at.

      Shalom, shalom!
      S~

Leave a Reply

