Living with Intention in 5775: Week 25

Shalom, all. I had intended to focus on a different goal this week, but since we’re in the midst of the Feast of Unleavened Bread, I thought this might be more appropriate. I’ve been pondering this for quite some time now, and felt I could finally express it. I hope you’ll take the time to examine you own selves with me this week.


leav·en: n. An element, influence, or agent that works subtly to lighten, enliven, or modify a whole.

Leaven, from what I understand and currently believe, is not sin, necessarily, but rather influence. This can be the influence of others, either teachings (Pharisees and Sadducees) or policies (as with Herod)–which can lead to sin–or the hidden work of the Holy Spirit in the life of a believer (the Kingdom of heaven). Personally, I am taking this time during the Feast of Unleavened Bread to examine who I am listening to, and what I have acquired. Paul tells us that knowledge puffs up. So I am asking myself, “what have I learned, or what am I learning that doesn’t change me from the inside, to purify my heart to serve Him more fully? What have I learned that has drawn me closer to others and to my Father?” Those things that influence us toward worldly wisdom and recognition of self puff us up with pride. But the leaven of Heaven, makes us rise with heavenly wisdom that will result in our being made “holy loaves” to be waived before the L-rd at Shavuot, in humility, because if it is leaven from Heaven then it came from Him and all the glory belongs to Him for the end result. Just some thoughts…

Passages to consider: Exodus 12:15, Leviticus 23:17, Amos 4:5, Matthew 13:33, Matthew 16:6, Mark 8:15, 1 Corinthians 5:8, 1 Cor. 8:1, and Galatians 5:9.

 

Leave a Reply

