Living with Intention in 5775: Week 27

Shalom, readers! I hope you are having a good week so far. I have been ill, so I asked my sweet friend Laurie to write up this week’s challenge, and she did an amazing job! Thanks, Laurie, for helping a girl out.


This week I’m taking Paul’s words to the Ephesians as a challenge. I’ve read them plenty of times, but it is once again time to get purposeful in this life with the people around us. The book as a whole is wonderful; this week I’m looking specifically in chapter 4.

Sometimes we get attacked by people in the body because we don’t see eye to eye theologically. Intentions may start off good, like caring about sharing what one believes as truth, but so quickly an innocent conversation can turn nasty and peace and love are not found there. Sometimes I get excited about something new I have learned from the Scriptures, and I have to be careful about how or even when and with whom I share this new information. It can be completely true and good, but there have times when I’ve overzealously shared with a friend or family member that doesn’t see eye to eye with me, and I have had times when I have walked away irritated and angry because their eyes weren’t opened at that very moment to that amazing truth that I had to share!
Here are some words from Paul that I’m challenging myself this week to help me when I’ve got someone coming at me, as a reminder before I do the same thing myself:

Therefore I, the prisoner of the Lord, implore you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love, being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit of the bond of peace. (Ephesians 4:1-3)

Okay, did you see what I saw there?

  • HUMILITY,
  • GENTLENESS,
  • PATIENCE,
  • SHOWING TOLERANCE FOR ONE ANOTHER IN LOVE, &
  • BE DILIGENT TO PRESERVE THE UNITY OF THE SPIRIT IN THE BOND OF PEACE.

We are part of a body made up of many parts for one purpose, and honestly, it’s hard sometimes…but should it be? Paul goes on to say:

As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects of Him who is the head, even Messiah, from whom the whole body, being fitted and held together by what every joint supplies, according to the proper working of each individual part, causes growth of the body for the building up of itself in love. (Ephesians 4:14-16)

Lastly, I looked at Ephesians 4:25-27:

Therefore, laying aside falsehood, speak truth each one of you with his neighbor, for we are members of one another. Be angry, and yet do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and do not give the devil an opportunity.”

So, here I see that we should be speaking to one another, but, apparently, at times, we are going to get upset. However, we don’t have to be angry and sin and ruin the peace within the Body. We need to communicate and listen to one another in love, be patient with each other. Sometimes anger will stir up, but don’t let that anger lead you into sin! We don’t have to blow up at our brother and ruin relationships, further hurting the Body.

May our Father help us as we continue to learn our roles within the Body for the sake of His Name, His Kingdom, for the sake of true peace and love in unity in Yeshua our Messiah!


Laurie also enclosed some more Scripture verses to study this week.

  • Colossians 3:12-17 & 4:2-6
  • 1 Peter 3:15
  • Proverbs 4:24,11:12, 12:18, 15:28, 17:27, 21:23, 37:30
  • Psalm 37:7-11

Other articles and messages you might like to review:

Article: The Fruit of the Spirit Pt 4 – Gentleness by Tyler Dawn Rosenquist

Video: Grace Anatomy: It is about US, not I by Matthew Vander Els

Blessings and a good week to all!

In Him,
Sarah and Laurie L.

Leave a Reply

