Living with Intention in 5775: Week 28

The past few days I’ve been visiting my family in my old hometown. I’ve been noticing all the changes, the new buildings and businesses, as well as the things that haven’t changed in the last five years. And it made me think about how I’ve changed over the last five years and how, in some ways, I am still the same. There are many good changes, lots of “upgrades” and lots of things that are still “fixtures” in my life–some good, some not so good.

Yesterday, I went to the local synagogue with my parents and the message was about how the responsibility of salvation lies with our Saviour, but we are responsible for our own repentance; how we are earthly and spiritual beings, having been made from the earth, and given the breath of Hashem; and how often we look to the earthly things to solve spiritual problems.

I have so many things that I want to conquer, but as hard as I try I keep on messing up. The rabbi spoke about how this often happens when we are attempting to overcome spiritual issues through the works of our flesh. He used the example of trying to pull up a weed and only removing the top, leaving the root. It solves the immediate problem, but a new plant will pop up, because the root wasn’t removed.

So how do we become reformed, and how can we have lasting change? We need to come to Hashem in prayer through surrender and repentance. A spiritual problem requires a spiritual solution.

The process of purification and sanctification is life long, however, surrender of self will/desires and repentance for not surrendering to His will, are necessary for changing to old habits into good fruit. So this week, I’d like to encourage all of you, my lovely readers, to come before the throne of mercy with open hands, laying everything on the table for scrutiny and examination by the Ruach during your prayer time. Let Him search your innermost parts in order to expose and remove the “roots” that want to hold you back from walking in more fullness of life, love, and peace.

“The spirit of man is the candle of the L-RD, searching all the inward parts of the belly.” (Proverbs 20:27)

Blessings and peace for a fruitful week,

S~

Leave a Reply

