Prone to Wander

This week I had one of the most frightening experiences of my life. My children and I had had a wonderful morning picking strawberries with friends followed by coming back to have lunch and playtime in the backyard. When our friends left, we decided to go to the library.

When we got there my daughter and younger son immediately picked out a book, and I was assisting my oldest in finding a couple of chapter books. My daughter came up to me and asked if I would hold her book, as they all often ask, so I took her book and then went back to finding a book for my son. After finding the book, I looked and no daughter.

Now my dear daughter has always been prone to wander. When she was 15 months old, she got it in her head to walk across a football field to get to a playground with no thought of telling us where she was planning on going or grabbing one of us to accompany her. There she was just walking away without a care in the world.

So as I began to call out her name and walked toward the children’s play area, stopping short after calling her name again and receiving no answer, I started to panic.

I walked up to the librarian and asked her if she had seen a little girl with long brown curly hair leave the children’s section.  She shook her head and looked terrified as she got up to check with the other staff. I walked back toward the children’s play area, and there she was walking back toward the shelves she’d left me in. I grabbed her hand tightly and promptly told her and my sons it was time to go. It couldn’t have been more than five minutes, but it felt like an eternity.

I thanked the librarian who’d tried to help me, we checked out our books, and then I told my precious daughter to never do that again. I found myself uttering the words, “When you walk away from me, you put your life in danger. I can’t keep you safe, if you remove yourself from my covering of protection. It is so important that you stay near me, so that you won’t be hurt.”

And I heard Abba say, “Yes. You too, daughter.”

I realized that He was lovingly reminding me that all of us are prone to wander and can get so caught up in the things of this world, preoccupied with earthly matters, that we ignore our relationship with our Father. We don’t hear Him calling–and He is calling. If you hear His voice today, no matter how near or far you may be, come back to Him. Take the steps in His direction and place yourself under His covering and surrender to His care, for He cares so much for you.

Leave a Reply

