Living With Intention in 5775: Week 40

If I were to name this week’s challenge, I would title it, “Getting to Know You(rself)”

Many of us have little awareness of who we are. We don’t know what our gifts or talents are, we don’t know who G-d designed us to be; we’ve let the world dictate and decide our identities. We often don’t know what our purpose is, and we tend to self-criticize, rarely looking at our personality and character traits in a positive light. So this week, I am going to give you some resources that have helped me on my path to self-discovery in hopes that these things might open up your eyes to who G-d has created you to be.

Firstly, I recommend you look up your Torah portion for the year of your birth. You can do this easily by going to Hebcal.com, and put in your birthdate in the “Convert from Gregorian to Hebrew date” boxes, and then click “convert to Hebrew”. It will give you the Hebrew date of your birth, and the Torah portion that was read the week you were born. You can learn a lot about who you are from reading your Torah portion.

The next thing I would recommend is knowing your Love Language and knowing the love language of those closest to you. This has helped me to express what I need to feel loved from my spouse, and has also helped me to try to love my spouse how he needs to feel loved. It just adds that element of intention and respect in our relationships.

The third resource I recommend is “Dressing Your Truth”. Yes, it is an energy profiling/personality analyzer, but I have found it quite accurate in assessing basic personality types. This information has changed the way I see myself (now in a more positive light), and also helps me relate better to my family and friends.

The last resource I can recommend at this time is self-assessing your sensitivity level. Did you know that 20% of the world population is considered “highly sensitive”? This does not mean that they are only emotionally more sensitive, but psychologically and physiologically more sensitive than the rest of the world’s population. You can learn more here: The Highly Sensitive Person

SENSITIVE TRAILER from Sensitive on Vimeo.

Other things to consider: what are your hobbies, what do you enjoy doing in a creative capacity, and what are you really gifted at in a creative capacity? Here’s a list to get you started in considering the different possibilities:

  1. Drawing – charcoal, pencil, pastels
  2. Painting – acrylic, watercolor, oil
  3. Calligraphy – typography
  4. Creative writing – short stories, poetry
  5. Cooking – canning, plate presentation, cake decoration
  6. Sewing – quilting, clothing construction, crochet, knitting, weaving, embroidery, appliqué
  7. Woodworking – carpentry, whittling, pyrography
  8. Drama – script writing and performance
  9. Dancing –choreography and performance
  10. Music – composition of music, lyrics, and performance
  11. Sculpture – mosaics, collages, welding, clay, ceramics, stained glass, basket weaving
  12. Photography – composition and various modes of presentation
  13. Computer – graphic, web design
  14. Jewelry design

There is no one way to assess who we are, and there are a lot more resources available to you in discovering your multi-faceted self. So go exploring this week. Discover all the beautiful uniqueness that is you.

Every person must realize, “I, with all my abilities, potentials and talents both physical and spiritual, am unique in the universe. Amongst all those alive today there is no other me. In past generations too there was no other me, and until the end of time there will be no other me. And if so, the Master of the Universe certainly has sent me here on a special mission that could be fulfilled by no one else but me – with all my uniqueness.” ~Rabbi Shlomo Wolbe

Shalom and Shavua Tov,

S~

Leave a Reply

