Tzniut: My Story (Part 6)

tumblr_mipe1i5krv1s5098to1_1280I keep guidelines of tzniut, because I feel most comfortable in doing so, and I must say it has been a progression over the last few years. I feel more feminine and beautiful in skirts and dresses, and I love to mix and match my outfits with beautiful scarves. I never expected it would become a way for me to express myself in an artistic way–my body as a canvas, covered and draped with all kinds of delicious colors and patterns–to reflect and complement my personality.
I suppose I would be dishonest if I didn’t disclose that I don’t really do it for any moral or even religious reasons (not that those aren’t perfectly legitimate reasons). It is a conviction purely at the whim of my Heavenly Father, Who put the desire in my heart to do so. And after contemplating the “why” over the past few years, I can only conclude that I do it as a type of encouragement to those that desire do the same, so that they know that there is someone else in the world who dresses modestly and enjoys it.
I am by my very nature an encourager. I am not afraid to stand out from the crowd, and I will do it if it means giving others a little courage to stand out, too. So that’s my story; maybe it seems too simple to some, but why should it be more complex?

Shalom and blessings,
S~

For more on tzniut/modesty click HERE

Leave a Reply

